The Granite Mountain Interagency Hotshot Crew

The Granite Mountain Interagency Hotshot Crew was a crew within the Prescott Fire Department whose mission was to fight wildfires and when not doing so, engaged in work to reduce growth of fire-prone vegetation. Originally founded in 2001 as a fuels mitigation crew, they were later formed into Crew 7, a Type II IA hand-crew in 2004, and eventually transitioned into a Type I Inter-agency hotshot crew in 2008.

On June 30, 2013,
19 of the 20 members of the group
perished fighting the Yarnell Hill Fire:

Andrew Ashcraft

Robert Caldwell

Travis Carter

Dustin Deford

Christopher MacKenzie

Eric Marsh

Grant McKee

Sean Misner

Scott Norris

Wade Parker

John Percin

Anthony Rose

Jesse Steed

Joe Thurston

Travis Turbyfill

William Warneke

Clayton Whitted

Kevin Woyjeck

Garret Zuppiger

GHMIC Learning & Tribute Center

The Prescott Fire Department has held in trust all items the community left at Station 7 and sent from around the world mourning the loss of the Granite Mountain Hotshots on June 30, 2013. Community members called for action on the items, and recognize the need for a place to commemorate the nineteen fallen hotshots. Over the ensuing months, a nonprofit group was born: The Granite Mountain Interagency Hotshot Crew Learning and Tribute Center.

GMIHC Learning and Tribute Center Location

Prescott Gateway Mall
3250 Gateway Boulevard
Prescott, Arizona 86303
(Dillard’s end of the mall)